AJK Azad Kashmir

Political manoeuvring is in full swing in Azad Kashmir

Insight on Kashmir Exclusive Report

// The candidates in upcoming legislative assembly elections in Azad Kashmir are desperately trying to garner support from masses; the Insight on Kashmir has learnt this from people in  Neelum Valley, Muzaffarabad, Mirpur, Poonch and Kotli.

Despite of the restrictions of Covid-19 political gatherings and meetings are continuing from almost all those potential candidates of various political parties.

The social media profiles of political workers in various constituencies are broadcasting stories of overnight shift and local upheavals in ranking of various candidates.

All kinds of political manoeuvring is in full swing from Neelum Valley in Muzaffarabad division upto Barnala in Mirpur division of Azad Kashmir.

Tribal and clans’ affiliations are solicited in electioneering stunts such as jirgas, bethaks and corner meetings.

The talk of political upheavals in upcoming elections is not new for voters.

However, what is quite new and unique for them is the diversity and number of candidates from various backgrounds.

This can be seen by looking into the zeal and fervour of wrapped in political promises that are chillingly  creeping into blood and nerves of voters.  

The 2021 Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK) Legislative Assembly elections will be held in July this year. The exact schedule and the code of conduct for elections will be announced in June.

Prime Minister Imran Khan’s Pakistan Tehereek-e-Insaf party has announced that it will field its candidates in all the electoral constituencies in forthcoming general elections in Azad Jammu Kashmir.

Whereas, another major political party Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has decided to withhold award of party tickets for upcoming elections.

For upcoming AJK elections, 24 political parties contesting in 45 constituencies.

The major political parties taking part in 2021 elections are Muslim Conference, Nizam e Mustafa Conference, All Kashmir Party, Allah Tawakal Party, Jafria Supreme Council, Jamat e Falah e Insaniyat, Jamiat Ulma e Jammu and Kashmir, Democratic Patty, National Liberation League, Qaumi Movement, Liberation League, JK Peoples Party, JK United Movement, Wahdat e Muslimeen, Markazi Jamiat e Ahle Hadees, Mission Kashmir Task Force, Mutahidda Quami Movement, Muslim League Nawaz, Pakistan People Party Shaheed Bhutto, Pakistan Peoples Party, Sada e Haq Party, Tehreek e Tahafuz e Insani Haqooq Party, Tehreek e Labbaik Pakistan and Pakistan Tehreek e Insaf, etc.

%d bloggers like this: